The Advisory Panel serves as a source of independent expertise and mentorship for the Centre. The Panel members help to extend the Centre’s reach locally and internationally as well as profile the Centre’s work, thereby contributing to its growth.



Prof Cheong Koon Hean

Centre for Liveable Cities,
Ministry of National Development


Mr Stanley Loh

Permanent Secretary,
Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment


Ms Goh Swee Chen

National Arts Council


Prof Lam Khee Poh

Provost’s Chair Professor of Architecture & Built Environment,
National University of Singapore


Dr Seek Ngee Huat

Chairman, Institute of Real Estate and Urban Studies;
Provost’s Chair Professor (Practice) of Real Estate, National University of Singapore


Mr Frederick Teo

Chief Executive Officer,


Mr Cheng Hsing Yao

Group Chief Executive Officer,
GuocoLand Limited

To enhance its intellectual resources, the Centre works closely with prominent former politicians and senior civil servants who have played integral roles in Singapore’s urban development. In addition to their advisory roles, the Distinguished Advisors also share their knowledge and experiences through oral history interviews, lectures and roundtable sessions.



Special Advisor

Mr Benny Lim

National Parks Board


Special Advisor

Dr Liu Thai Ker

Morrow Architects & Planners Pte Ltd


Mr S Dhanabalan

Member, Council of Presidential Advisers; Member, Presidential Council for Minority Rights; Chairman, Temasek Trustees Pte Ltd; Chairman, Mandai Park Holdings Pte. Ltd; Senior International Advisor, Temasek International Advisors Pte. Ltd.


Mr Mah Bow Tan

Globalcities Consult Limited


Mr J Y Pillay

College of Alice & Peter Tan, NUS


Mr Peter Ho

Urban Redevelopment Authority


Prof Aline Wong

SR Nathan School of Human Development, Singapore University of Social Sciences


Mr Chan Heng Loon, Alan

Land Transport Authority


Mr David Lim Tik En

Former Director,
Wheelock Properties Singapore


Mr Khaw Boon Wan

Retired Cabinet Minister


Mr Lim Chee Onn

Singapore Management University


Mr Philip Yeo

Economic Development Innovations Singapore Pte Ltd, Accuron Technologies Ltd and Advanced MedTech Holdings


Dr Tan Chin Nam

Chairman, Global Fusion Capital Pte Ltd; Senior Corporate Adviser & Former Permanent Secretary 


Prof Tan Yong Soon

Professor in Practice,
Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, National University of Singapore


Mr Tan Gee Paw

Special Advisor to Chairman,
PUB, Singapore's National Water Agency


Prof Yaacob Ibrahim

Director, Community Leadership and Social Innovation Centre (CLASIC), Singapore Institute of Technology

The Centre is guided by distinguished former leaders from the private, public and people sectors in the creation of knowledge products and capability development programmes.



Mr Khoo Teng Chye

Former Executive Director, Centre for Liveable Cities, Ministry of National Development

Mr Tay Kim Poh

Mr Tay Kim Poh

Former Deputy Secretary, Ministry of National Development; Former Chief Executive Officer, Housing & Development Board

Prof Heng Chye Kiang

Prof Heng Chye Kiang

Provost's Chair Professor, Deputy Dean, College of Design and Engineering,
National University of Singapore

Dr John Keung

Dr John Keung

Emeritus Fellow
BCA Academy

Ms Low Sin Leng

Ms Low Sin Leng

Chairman, Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts

Prof Neo Boon Siong

Prof Neo Boon Siong

Former Canon Professor of Business; Former Dean, Nanyang Business School
Nanyang Technological University

Prof Phang Sock Yong

Prof Phang Sock Yong

Celia Moh Chair Professor of Economics, School of Economics, Singapore Management University


Prof Lily Kong

President, Singapore Management University


Mr Loh Wai Keong

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer,
Greenwillow Capital Management


Prof Tai Lee Siang

Centre Director – DesignZ, Head of Pillar - Architecture and Sustainable Design,
Programme Director - Design and Artificial Intelligence, Singapore University of Technology and Design


Dr Aaron Maniam

Director, Digital Transformation Education, Blavatnik School of Government,
University of Oxford


Curricula vitae (CVs) are available upon request. Please email

The Centre enlists the knowledge and expertise of a pool of urban development experts and practitioners to support research, training and advisory work.

Curricula vitae (CVs) are available upon request. Please email

Chew Ming Fai

Deputy Chief Executive Officer (Public Health) and Director-General of Public Health,
National Environment Agency

Damian Tang

Former Senior Director, Park Management & Lifestyle Cluster,
National Parks Board

Fong Chun Wah

Senior Advisor,
Housing & Development Board

Jeremy Lim

Co-Director, Global Health Programme, Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health 
National University of Singapore 

John Eu-Li Wong

Isabel Chan Professor in Medical Sciences
Senior Vice President (Health Innovation and Translation), US
Senior Advisor, National University Health System

Tan Lee Kim

Deputy CEO,
Singapore Food Agency

Lena Chan

Senior Director, Professional Development & Services Cluster,
National Parks Board

Leong Chee Chiew

Executive Director, National Parks, Gardens & Nature Reserves Cluster, National Parks Board; Commissioner of Parks and Recreation; Director-General, Plant Health and Director-General, Wildlife Trade Control 

Mohinder Singh

Former Advisor, LTA Academy,
Land Transport Authority

Richard Hoo

Deputy CEO (Infrastructure Planning),
Urban Redevelopment Authority

Simon Ong

Former Deputy Chief Executive, 
Singapore Land Authority

Tan Nguan Sen

Senior Consultant,
PUB, Singapore’s National Water Agency

Tan Siong Leng

Former Deputy Chief Executive Officer,
Urban Redevelopment Authority

Yap Chin Beng

Former Deputy Chief Executive Officer (Estate & Corporate),
Housing & Development Board

Yeo Yek Seng

Former Deputy Chief Executive (Economic Regulation Division),
Energy Market Authority


Hugh Lim

Executive Director


Michael Koh

Executive Fellow



Yeon Wen Cong

Capability Development


Jackson Wu

Knowledge Platforms


Elaine Tan



Dr Hee Limin



Amanda Ong

Deputy Director,
International Programmes & Advisory


Eugene Heng

Deputy Director,
Capability Development


Teo Jing Kok

Deputy Director,
Capability Development


Mary-Anne Pan

Deputy Director,
Capability Development


Laura Ho

Deputy Director,
Programmes, Events and Communications


Stephanie Yong

Deputy Director,
Partnerships & Engagement


Shawn Tan

Deputy Director,


Stewart Tan

Deputy Director,

CLC wishes to thank the members of the World Cities Summit 2022 Urban Resilience and Science of Cities Knowledge Councils for their valuable perspectives on future urban trends, as well as innovative and actionable ideas to shape liveable, resilient and sustainable cities for tackling future urban challenges. Both Knowledge Councils have played a key role in shaping the programme for the World Cities Summit and guiding the direction of CLC’s research agenda.


WCS 2022 Science of Cities Knowledge Council

  • Lee Tzu Yang (Mr) (Chair of Knowledge Council)
  • Alexander Zehnder (Dr)
  • David Wallerstein (Dr)
  • Hiroo Ichikawa (Dr)
  • John Sweeney (Dr)
  • Josef Hargrave (Mr)
  • Long Ying (Dr)
  • Luis Bettencourt (Dr)
  • Philip Rode (Dr)
  • Sanjeev Sanyal (Mr)
  • Vanessa Evers (Dr)
  • Yu Kongjian (Dr)

WCS 2022 Urban Resilience Knowledge Council

  • Lily Kong (Dr) (Chair of Knowledge Council)
  • Amy Chester (Ms)
  • Bambang Susantono (Dr)
  • Brenda Yeoh (Dr)
  • Emi Kiyota (Dr)
  • Paul Teng (Dr)
  • Ruth Boumphrey (Dr)
  • Søren Brøndum (Mr)
  • Upali Nanda (Dr)
  • Wong Mun Summ (Mr)
  • Yoo Young Sook (Dr)
  • Zhu Dajian (Dr)


View the bio of the Knowledge Council members here.
PDF: 414 KB